Splogjacked

I took the domain tamba2.org.uk offline some time ago. I forget the date exactly but I archived all the files and then changed the DNS to ns1.site-removed-by-me.com ns2.site-removed-by-me.com and thought nothing else of it.

Couple of days ago I happened across http://archive.is and today thought I’d have a look. As I thought I’d written a couple of good posts back when I blogged on T2 I searched for the url – and I find some spammy bastard has somehow hijacked it.  http://archive.is/tamba2.org.uk WTF? So I hopped to Namecheap and changed the DNS to point directly at Namecheap and as there is nothing there an error/generic holding page will result.

But then I whois’d the domain that is linked in that archive.is link – and it is not registered. I whois’d site-removed-by-me.com – and it too is not registered. So I don’t know what is going on. But at least my domain name is safe.

edit: 

The domain binary-investieren.com is as spammy as hell – go check at archive.is and the snapshots. So I whois that – and oh look – it’s registered to the biggest and spammiest webhost of them all – Go Daddy. http://who.godaddy.com/whois.aspx?domain=binary-investieren.com&prog_id=GoDaddy

 

Twisted US sentencing

It’s time for the judge to pass sentence. Andrew will go to federal prison for 41 months. After that, there will be three years of supervised release. There’s a fine, too – $73,000 restitution to be paid to AT&T.

Afterwards, Andrew’s friends point out that on this same day two teenage football stars convicted of drugging and raping a 16-year-old girl in Steubenville, Ohio – videotaping her and urinating on her – are receiving sentences of one and two years.

Security alert: notes from the frontline of the war in cyberspace [Guardian.]

Selling some domain names

aphotoblog.com/net/org

fleshpress.com/net/org

shimmerstudio.com/net/org

thebestinblogs.com/net/org

x2.io

I have all the above and am after selling them. The top 4 have never been used at all – no history – and although I am using x2.io as yet it’s not something I am attached to. Great short url though.

Interested? Let me know. If I know you we can do this through Paypal and Namecheap. If I don’t I’ll sell them through Namecheap’s process. (and don’t lowball – I guarantee no reply to lowballs)

Shutter Google?

“There are unexplored areas of EU data protection law that permit regulators to substantially intervene in the operations of a company, imposing enforceable data processing prohibitions. Thus authorities in some countries – even under existing law – could shut down Google services”
- The Privacy Surgeon

Excellent news.

Evernote security

I didn’t get the email about their hack. Wasn’t concerned because I don’t use their service right now but I thought I’d reset my password.

I logged in with my username and existing password.
It showed me my previous – and now dead and unrecoverable – gmail address.
It told me to create a new password.

I changed my account email to a completely different provider
I entered a new password
and now I’m logged in.

Which is all pretty crap because why didn’t they confirm it’s actually me? I didn’t get an email at the new address saying “Hey, you just changed..” or any sort of verification sent anywhere. So Evernote is still insecure then surely?

Nick Ezzo

nickezzo.com – I got a Paypal scam email and the script linked to this guy’s site. If you look at his site he gives the impression that he knows his stuff. Very clearly he does not. (edit to make clear that I know this guy is not the scammer. Ezzo’s site has been compromised but he doesn’t know/care). I’ve emailed him, used twitter to link to him and his site is still there, the script is still there. Go Daddy host the site so as I hadn’t done anything utterly and completely pointless for a while I emailed their abuse address. The site and the script it still there.

So what have we learned?
- Nick Ezzo should have a clue but does not
- Go Daddy are still the pile of crap they always have been

But the Paypal scam emails are good, very good.

(and I wonder when or if The Real Nick Ezzo will comment)