ideahustle.com is a splog. It is stealing content and earning the blog owner (AND google) money from other people’s work.
WHOIS for ideahustle.com
Administrative Contact:
Weinberg, Nicholas we6936@netzero.net
8548 old oak circle
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49009
United States
(269) 375-0743
His registrar and his host have DMCA notices. His adsense has been reported (like THAT will get any action!). And I have emailed him the details too. We’ll see what if anything happens.
Seeing as most sploggers have the sense to use some sort of privacy, is there a list anywhere for the real low-brow sploggers? Is there somewhere to pin their details surrounded by words such as ‘thief’ ‘scum’ ‘con-artist’ and other choice words? If not, I’ll make a page and Mr Nicholas Weinberg in the state of Michigan can be the first incumbent.
Update#1: from Godaddy
We are not hosting this site. We are the domain name registrar only. We have no access to, nor jurisdiction over the content on this site. The hosting provider is the company responsible for the registered name servers available from a WHOIS lookup.
So domain registrars are not responsible for anything the domain is used for and the DMCA cannot be used in that respect. Useful to know. Very useful.
Update#2 from Godaddy
As the DMCA currently reads it does not extend to registrars where they are not providing domain nameservers for the use of the domain name. As previously stated, we have no jurisdiction over the content that is not hosted on our network. You will need to contact the hosting provider as previously stated.
Again, very useful to know. Of course no jurisdiction does not mean you can’t act.
Update#3 Suspension!
Victory! The domain has been suspended by it’s host and much kudos to them for doing it. The email seems to have done the trick so I’ll make that into a “Fill in the blanks” template. I’ll be checking to see if that splog domain comes back – he’ll probably just move hosts.