Nicholas Weinberg of Kalamazoo, Michigan

ideahustle.com is a splog. It is stealing content and earning the blog owner (AND google) money from other people’s work.

WHOIS for ideahustle.com
Administrative Contact:
Weinberg, Nicholas we6936@netzero.net
8548 old oak circle
Kalamazoo, Michigan 49009
United States
(269) 375-0743

His registrar and his host have DMCA notices. His adsense has been reported (like THAT will get any action!). And I have emailed him the details too. We’ll see what if anything happens.

Seeing as most sploggers have the sense to use some sort of privacy, is there a list anywhere for the real low-brow sploggers? Is there somewhere to pin their details surrounded by words such as ‘thief’ ‘scum’ ‘con-artist’ and other choice words? If not, I’ll make a page and Mr Nicholas Weinberg in the state of Michigan can be the first incumbent.

Update#1: from Godaddy

We are not hosting this site. We are the domain name registrar only. We have no access to, nor jurisdiction over the content on this site. The hosting provider is the company responsible for the registered name servers available from a WHOIS lookup.

So domain registrars are not responsible for anything the domain is used for and the DMCA cannot be used in that respect. Useful to know. Very useful.

Update#2 from Godaddy

As the DMCA currently reads it does not extend to registrars where they are not providing domain nameservers for the use of the domain name. As previously stated, we have no jurisdiction over the content that is not hosted on our network. You will need to contact the hosting provider as previously stated.

Again, very useful to know. Of course no jurisdiction does not mean you can’t act.

Update#3 Suspension!
Victory! The domain has been suspended by it’s host and much kudos to them for doing it. The email seems to have done the trick so I’ll make that into a “Fill in the blanks” template. I’ll be checking to see if that splog domain comes back – he’ll probably just move hosts.

6 thoughts on “Nicholas Weinberg of Kalamazoo, Michigan

  1. These fuckmeats are stealing from my Salted and Cultural Snafu sites all the time… sploggers, I’ve never heard the term before, but I get pings from them almost daily. Well, a few times a week any way. It happens to a lot of my MD Blog Buddies as well, mostly on anything medical related, but mostly they think it’s something cool, as though their “column” is suddenly in syndication.

    I don’t get how they can’t be banned or taken off of WordPress for stealing content and making a buck off my work… I’ll definitely start saving the links.

  2. So domain registrars are not responsible for anything the domain is used for and the DMCA cannot be used in that respect. Useful to know. Very useful.

    Yes, but that hasn’t stopped them from freezing domains in the past. They were wrong in this case. It’s definitely something that should be taken up with the company hosting the content.

    The site appears to be hosted by LiquidxHost which appears to be a reseller at Layered Technologies (which is used by Automattic).

  3. Mark – I have asked for clarification from GoDaddy for reference. I’ll post what does happen.
    The reverse lookup showed it was LT too but I’ll see what the reseller does first. If it’s nothing then I’ll add their WHOIS information above.

    Gabriel – There just isn’t a solution which is why I’ll happily post details and rant about people.

  4. Pingback: What makes you happy ? » What to do…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <pre lang="" line="" escaped="" highlight="">